Discussion ClosedThis discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one,click here.

Interpretation of charge distribution in magneto-optical metasurface simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone, I am studying a magneto-optical metasurface consisting of Co disks deposited on a thin SiO2 layer, a thin Co layer and a massive Au layer. I'm using the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain module. A circularly polarized wave is incident perpendicularly on the metasurface (I set Ex=1 and Ey=j; is that correct?). When I plot the calculated charge distribution with (nxemw.Px+nyemw.Py+nzemw.Pz), I got a dipolar charge distribution, so I guess I got a snapshot of the charge distribution at a time that I don't know. This distribution is shown in the attached figure. If I had seen a time-averaged charge distribution I would have expected a monopolar distribution. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help

Alberto

2 Replies Last Post 2023年8月23日 GMT+2 13:23
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 year ago 2023年8月22日 GMT+2 21:21
Updated: 1 year ago 2023年8月22日 GMT+2 22:09

Fields computed in the frequency domain formulation are complex valued. Your plot of the normal component (that's the component of the vector along a surface normal, not to be confused with the "norm" of a vector!) of the polarization P isnota time-averaged value. Rather, it is simply a plot of the real-value part of a complex term. If you want to plot the magnitude of the P vector, plot emw.normP instead. If you want the magnitude of the specific vector component that you described in your post, plotabs( )of the expression that you wrote.

-------------------
Scientific Applications & Research Associates (SARA) Inc.
www.comsol.com/partners-consultants/certified-consultants/sara